Life in Japan: What can I even say, y’all.

Ahoy there friends and family!

 

fullsizeoutput_85a.jpeg

 

Well, I definitely thought that the big move would trigger all this amazing inspiration for writing… and I was wrong! Unfortunately, I haven’t cracked the code to the most successful acclimation possible– I don’t have any life shattering advice to give any future expats, as I’m still trying to figure out my day to day completely.

All I can really say is, it’s going to be tough, y’all.

I came into the best situation possible, living with my partner and his family, and it’s still pretty dang hard adjusting to a completely new way of life. Everything is different. The way I do every single thing in my day to day life is completely different. The adjustments are easy to make, but dang if its not completely, exhaustively, frustrating sometimes!
Even just small things like not knowing how to use the washing machine and not being able to find a deodorant that actually works just pile up one on top of another and make you want to scream “CAN’T ONE THING ACTUALLY BE EASY?!”

fullsizeoutput_859

But here’s the thing you guys, all the bad, all the frustrations, and all of the idiotically difficult challenges that come with life in a new country, it’s all worth it in the grand scheme of things. I’m having an unbelievably amazing time here in Japan, and despite having days where I just want to sit in the house and not deal with all the difficulties, that good days do far more than make up for the bad.

My number one advice is, let yourself adjust.  The exciting tourist period will wear off soon enough, and the monotony of day to day will creep up on you.  Don’t let yourself think this is yourself falling out of love with your new home.  This is just real life pushing itself back into the forefront.  Some things aren’t going to be exciting, some things definitely will not be fun.  But you’re here for the long haul so it’s important to lay down some roots, and set a solid formation.  See what your town has to offer, make your daily commute to work a bit more exciting by taking a different way.  Eat lunch alone in different shops you’ve been too nervous to try.  Take the language lessons, put yourself out there and make some friends.

When you’re living in a new country it’s important to remember that every day is a new adventure and each day will bring its own sets of triumphs and challenges.  Japan is an incredible country and I cannot wait to spend the next few years experiencing all that Japan has to offer!
Thats all for now.

Cait.

Leave a Reply

